We’ve Broken This Startup Thing

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about how our ideals & idols are totally broken and that we needed to re-evaluate how we work on & within online / digital / technology companies.

So I was quite sad to see another idol admitting that same brokenness. [1]

I’m trying to figure out when & why it became so acceptable for us to:

The thing is that this has really become the norm within our industry, so whenever a new entrepreneur or startup employee want to figure out how they’re supposed to succeed, we tell them to “Hustle!”. We direct them at the most prominent & experienced bloggers within our space, who will perpetuate this “work/life balance isn’t really important; you just need to work really hard” BS.

Even though I’ve seen more & more entrepreneurs speaking out against this recently, their voices are literally being drowned out by the mad-hustling-rush of the crowd.

Be the change you want to see in the world #

Cliché I know, but I figured that I needed to change first before I could speak up about this. In the past 2 months I’ve found a drastic improvement within my own life due to various changes that I’ve made. And I’m so much happier because of it.

Here’s some of the changes that I’ve made: [2]

These may not work for everyone, but I could recommend that you try only one thing, it would be to remove e-mail from your mobile devices; it’s so easy to do, but has such a big impact in effecting a change in your life.

I also wholeheartedly agree with Micah Baldwin that things don’t need to be in balance to be in balance. Balance is whatever makes you happy at any given time.

Ultimately it’s not even about making any changes, but at the very least re-evaluating why & how you are living your life. This “more, better, quicker”-mindset is becoming old and it’s become very evident that it’s not sustainable for any kind of long-term period.

We can create & breed better life habits. To get there though, we need to question everything & re-learn what we thought we knew about working, living and finding a happy balance.

[1] I’ve never met Rand personally and would love to do so one day. The post and link wasn’t meant to call him out in any way and instead I applaud him for wanting to make a change & being open / transparent about that.

[2] I’ve not perfected all of these, but I’ve already experienced a significant change in my life.

 
525
Kudos
 
525
Kudos

Now read this

The Greatest Hits Are Obvious

A couple of months ago I was listening to the Emerging Music Chart (by We Are Hunted) on Spotify, in an effort to discover some new music. I can remember the second song on that playlist: Some Nights by Fun. When I first heard the song,... Continue →