The Tortoise finds clarity (and still finishes the race)

We’re all familiar with the fable of the tortoise & the hare. I’ve learnt something new about this, my life and ambition in the last ten days.

Today is the one month anniversary since I moved into a non-executive role at WooThemes to work on my new startup (and baby), PublicBeta. In this time, I’ve been working hard and pushing myself to launching / releasing as quickly as possible. At times it’s felt like this mad dash down a rabbit-hole, which only serves to fire up those endorphins that comes from being on such entrepreneurial rollercoaster.

My biggest challenge in the last month has been that I travelled up to London for a week (PublicBeta will be based there; so I had to wrap up administrative stuff), which meant I wasn’t as productive as I would’ve been in the office at home. I also had a 10-day, second honeymoon pre-booked to the East with my wife, which eliminated the last third of my first month working on my new startup.

So whilst I still managed to make some great progress (more on that later this week), I’m further away from launching than I would’ve liked to be.

Spending the last ten days in Thailand though, has given me a sense of calmness and clarity about the way forward.


See, this trip is the first ever that I actually relaxed. On some days, I wasn’t even a tourist; I would just laze by the pool, grab a nap and then move back to the pool. Not very daunting at all.

I even managed not to think about business too much. And this is the first trip ever that my wife spoke more about her business than I did about mine. :)

When I did however think about PublicBeta, I tried to figure out what the first week or two would look like when I get back home. And especially how that roadmap relates to shipping something & getting closer to launch.

It’s within those thoughts (along with being well-rested), that I was reminded about Dan Shipper’s recent post. Why was I in such a rush?


Here’s some context to my situation:

So any deadline I impose is only my own. And I don’t need to rush.

I can be the tortoise.

It’s within that mindset (once I made the decision to take things slow), that I found some clarity:

It’s with this kind of clarity that I can see myself finishing my race, without having to rush forward every minute of every day.

(Excuse any typo’s; they’re the result of using an iPad Mini to type this post.)

 
87
Kudos
 
87
Kudos

Now read this

Why Age Doesn’t Matter

I recently had a conversation with one of my team leaders about some of our newest additions to the WooTeam (whom we’d not met, since they’re based remotely) and realized that we didn’t know how old these individuals are. We soon... Continue →